Tuned up & turned on

A friend of mine recently asked me what albums defined me?
Hmmm? I’m not really good at remembering albums, songs and artists, yes! I’m good at that. But the question intrigued me enough to write this post.

Songs and artists have influenced my mood, flows throughout my home from the bedroom to the kitchen, and good or bad, has messed around with my style at one time or another.

Music and fashion is, and will always be a love/hate relationship, but for me, these artists are timeless.
I never tire of listening to their songs, for each and everyone one of them have a unique style and flow that you just can’t forget.

So from the top of my head, in no particular order, genre or date, here’s a taster, as there are too darn many!

EPMD, Blackstreet, Betty Wright, Gladys Knight, Run DMC, Prince, Isely Brothers, Issac Hayes,
I enjoyed the East/West coast back-in-the-day genius lyric battles;
Tupac’s ‘Hold Ya Head’
(“My aim is to spread more smiles than tears/Utilise lessons learned from my childhood years”)
Biggie’s ‘Juicy’ (“Damn right I like the life I live/’Cause I went from negative to positive”)
Just about everything from Motown and Northern Soul
Boyz II Men, Luther Vandross, Sade, Marvin Gaye (naturally), Nas, Common, Mos Def, John Legend, Bilal, Floetry, Earth Wind & Fire, Mary Jane Girls, SOS Band, Change, Prince, Madonna, Tony, Toni, Tone, Pieces of a Dream, Young disciples, Brand New Heavies, Massive Attack, Human League, Burt Bacharach, Chaka Khan, Mary J Blige, Michael & Janet Jackson, LL Cool J, Curtis Mayfield, Redman & Bob Marley, Minnie Ripperton, Method Man (were great together too), Al Green, Whitney Houston, Loose Ends, Brownstone, Fugees, Maxwell, Talib Kweli, Cypress Hill, Wu Tang Clan, The Game, Tribe Called Quest, Jay Z & Beyonce (early work), Alicia Keys, New Edition, En Vogue, Cheryl Lynn, Chic, Busta Rhymes, Family Stand, George Benson, Candy Dulfer, Kenny G, Roderiguz, Surface, Sister Sledge, Audrey Hall, Carroll Thompson, Police, Eurythmics, George Michael, Young MC, Blondie, Cameo, Bobby Brown, The Pretenders, Culture Club, Simply Red,
Joe, Aretha Franklin, Stevie Wonder, Raphael Saadiq, Nora Jones, Tears for fears, Fleetwod Mac, Shirley Bassey, Grace Jones, Lucy Pearl, Aaliyah, Lynden David Hall, Roots, Freddie McGregor, Janet Kay, Gregory Issacs , Erykah Badu, Phyllis Hyman, Karyne White, Tina Turner, D’Angelo, Jill Scott, Tevin Campbell, Arrested Development, Naughty by Nature, Public Enemy, John Holt, Kool & the Gang, Gap band, Midnight Star, Maxi Priest, Eric Benet, Jodeci, Mtume, Salt & Pepper, TLC, SWV, Lisa Lisa & the Cult Jam, Karyn White and last for now Babyface.

PHEW!

IMG_4241.JPG

Leave a Reply

