The click trick of the eye

This week I was reminded of my childhood Ghanaian folklore character, Anansi the Spider. As my Nan would call him, he was is a loveable, witty little trickster.  Anansi the Spider outwitted and captured the tiger, the snake, the hornet  and  a dwarf with his skill of speech, and wisdom in exchange/payment for the stories of the world from the Sky God, Nyame.

In a strange way I thought of the Autumn/Winter 2011 campaign by Rodarte for Opening Ceremony. and how they ‘tricked my eye‘.  For those who don’t know, Rodarte did the beautiful ballet costume for Natalie Portman in the film BLACK SWAN and have so far shine again and have gained international exposure.

Out of all the campaigns that I have seen Rodarte for Opening Ceremony’s composition is interesting and intriguing, has me coming back to look for more. It is the click trick of the eye.

Leave a Reply

